Robert Andrew Spencer: Remembered

*2996 is a coalition of volunteer bloggers brought together by D.C.Roe‘s idea to commemorate the lives of those killed in the terrorist attacks of September 11, 2001. For a complete list of participants, please click HERE*

Andrew Robert Spencer

I remember Robert Andrew Spencer. He worked for Canter Fitzgerald as a broker. He had a uncanny love for life, and living. He enjoyed biking, golfing, playing lacrosse on the beach and his cigars. His true passion was for his family.

He grew up in Piscataway ,N.J. with 4 sisters and his brother Micheal. Every summer he and his siblings would rent a beach house on bethany beach in Delaware. They would spend a week with all the siblings and their families. They were close.

Along with his lovely wife, Robert had three children, Addie 5, Katie 3, and Robert Phillip, born August 16th, only 3 weeks old at the time of his fathers death.

He always told his wife, don’t sweat the small stuff. He never had to remember Valentines day, as he was always sending his wife flowers whenever the mood struck.

That day after the plane struck the Tower. He called his wife and left a message, “I’m alive, and I love you”. He never made it out. Trapped on the 105th floor of the North Tower.

His wife, Christine says, ” Like so many others who perished that day, he was a family man”. “An awesome father”.

He is survived by his wife, children, his four sisters: Kathryn Hayes of San Antonio,Texas. Elizabeth Richardson of Tewksbury, NJ. Jennifer Fosburgh of Lebanon,NJ.; Bother=Michael Spencer of Little Sillver and parents, Patricia and Tobert Spencer of Piscataway, NJ.

He also leaves a nation without this wonderful man full of character and life. He gave his life that day.

references used: Newsday & The Star Ledger

 

Technorati Tags: , , , , , , ,, , , , ,

60 Responses to “Robert Andrew Spencer: Remembered”

  1. Jeannette Says:

    A beautiful entry. The world is a sadder place without Robert and all the other victims. I am proud to be a part of 2996 also.

  2. kkt Says:

    Wonderful tribute.
    Mine is at http://jedisue.blogspot.com

  3. insane_mom_5 Says:

    What a lovely tribute mine is also up at http://www.blog.myspace.com?insane_mom_5

  4. insane_mom_5 Says:

    What a lovely tribute

  5. Jacqulyn Says:

    Wonderful tribute! We will remember him that day…

  6. PixiePincessMom Says:

    Beatiful tribute honoring Robert. It’s sad to hear about the children who lost a parent that day. He sounds like a wonderful person.

  7. laurie Says:

    Thank you for honoring Robert.

  8. OldOldLady Of The Hills Says:

    Beautiful Tribute to a fine young man. The sadness is overwhelming.

  9. Katherine Says:

    That was a wonderful tribute – what a handsome, full-of-life man he appears to have been. I am honoring Marjorie C. Salamone.

  10. The Meezers Says:

    what a wonderful tribute, thank you for letting me get to know him. My tribute can be found at http://www.meezertails.blogspot.com/

  11. autumn Says:

    Very nice tribute

  12. Paige Says:

    Wonderful tribute. Thank you.

  13. Jen Says:

    A moving tribute! I can tell that he will be missed.

    I Remember Anna Williams Allison.

  14. Jenna Says:

    The thing I’m learning as I read these tributes… I didn’t have children on September 11, 2001. And now… I do. And to have left three children… he must be missed so much.

    Thank you for telling his story.

  15. So Lost Says:

    Thank you for the wonderful tribute.

  16. laurie Says:

    Thank you for honoring Robert Spencer. We will never forget the 2,996.

  17. Heather Says:

    Thank you so much for telling us about Robert. I will say an extra prayer for his children tonight.

  18. Karmyn R Says:

    Another wonderful father and husband lost. Thank you for the great tribute!

  19. Malinda777 Says:

    May Robert Spencer rest in peace. Lovely tribute. Project 2996 has been a blessing. Today, I remember Thomas Foley.

  20. Stefanie Says:

    That was really really touching. You can read my tribute to Rosemarie C. Carlton at my blog.

  21. azjade Says:

    Such a wonderful tribute!

  22. Carly Says:

    A very touching tribute.

    Always, Carly

  23. Chicagoray Says:

    Great Job on your remembrance. Robert would be proud

  24. Chi Says:

    Thank you so much for such a wonderful, touching tribute. Mr Spencer seemed like a wonderful person & he will be never be forgotten.

  25. retardedrugrat Says:

    A wonderful tribute to a wonderful man.

    My tribute can be found at http://retardedrugrat.wordpress.com

  26. Wystful 1 Says:

    Such a sad, sad tale.
    Our country was torn, and I see it still remains that way in so many areas.

    You did a beautiful job.

  27. Raggedy Says:

    Wonderful tribute!
    These are sad and hard to read….
    I am honored to be a part of this project.
    Mine is posted also…
    The ultimate measure of a man is not where he stands in moments of comfort,
    but where he stands at times of challenge
    and controversy. ~Martin Luther King, Jr.

    Bless you…

  28. Urban Scrawl Says:

    tribute to 911 victim stephen russell

    The 2,996 Project is a simple but powerful project aimed to create a tribute to each victim of 9/11 individually, with each tribute being created by a different weblog. I am proud to be a contributing weblog in this…

  29. Kiki Says:

    This is such a beautiful tribute. How sad that so many were able to give their loved ones hope and then never making it out. I had the honor of remembering Teresa Martin.

  30. Laurel Says:

    Thanks for your post. I think this project is wonderful tribute to those who had their lives stolen from them and their families.

    I am honoring Vincent D. Kane today! http://blog.360.yahoo.com/blog-7FazKCU3d6fVkKoOC2tOma1k4Xf2?p=654

  31. ennuipundit Says:

    Thank you for your wonderful tribute. And for your participation in this project.

  32. Jem Says:

    Thanks for writing about Robert 🙂

  33. Ingrid Says:

    Such a lovely tribute. Nice job.
    I wrote about Gerard Duffy, a NYC firefighter. Stop by and leave a comment and a link back to your tribute.
    http://ingridspangler.blogspot.com/2006/09/in-memory-of-gerard-duffy

  34. Debra Says:

    I am struck by the fact that each of us in our own way has become attached to the person we were given to write about. I am struck with how much I would have enjoyed knowing each of the people I have had the honor of reading about. Thank you for bringing Robert Spencer back to life. You wrote a very moving memorial.

    Please stop by and visit, my tribute for Durrell Pearsall is up.

  35. canadianna Says:

    You’ve done a lovely piece here.

  36. Mad Momma Jen » 2,996 Participants List Says:

    […] Robert Andrew Spencer will be honored by Beth […]

  37. Erin Says:

    Thank you for helping me get to know Robert. Yet another wonderful person whose life ended too soon.

    I am proudly remembering Shawn Edward Bowman at the-looney-bin.blogspot.com

    Erin

  38. Libragirl Says:

    I have a tribute up as well for Robert Andrew Spencer. (Andy, he liked to be called) Your tribute is wonderful. I hope mine is as well.

  39. Common Sense Runs Wild » The 2996 Project Says:

    […] Robert Andrew Spencer will be honored by Beth […]

  40. Teena Says:

    What a lovely tribute! Thank you for participating. These people are no longer just a name to us anymore.

    Mine’s up.

  41. Krystn Says:

    Thank you for sharing a part of his life with us.

    Faina’s Tribute

  42. InterstellarLass Says:

    Thank you for remembering him.

    I have remembered Laura Lee Morabito

  43. Alberto Says:

    Thank you, your tribute was beautiful.

    Five years have come, and five years have gone, and still we stand together as one…

    I did not know any victims, but I learned a lot about my asigned person. His tribute is on my blog.

    9/11 is what compelled me to re-join the military and do my part.

  44. Jennifer Says:

    Thank you for helping me to remember him. I don’t know what I would do if my two children and I ever lost the most important man in our lives. God bless his family. I will never forget…

  45. Pentha Says:

    Sigh…

    Tribute to Christopher Paul Slattery

  46. j Says:

    Like so many that lost their lives that day, my tribute is for another Canter Fitz employee, Lisa Egan.
    Thank you for your beautiful tribute.

    We will never forget.

    I remember Lisa Egan

  47. mel Says:

    God bless his family and friends. Great tribute!! Mine is on my website(above) and I honored Kevin M. Cosgrove.

  48. Pattie Says:

    What a great tribute for a wonderful man. I hope his family knows that there are others who grieve with them and who will also never forget.

    The young man I honored as part of 2,996 also was a broker for Cantor Fitzgerald; they worked on the same floor. There’s a little bit of comfort in knowing that they worked with great people.

  49. Guido Says:

    Thank you for writing a great tribute to a great man. I am proud to be part of the 2996 community, but cannot begin to fathom the depth of emotions involved in it.

  50. Kristy Says:

    Wonderful tribute. Another face put to a number.
    Thank you!

    I remember Simon Weiser

  51. Cathy Says:

    Thank you for remembering Robert. We lost so much that day- sadly all the children that will never know their fathers and mothers.

    I remember Marion Britton.

    I will NEVER FORGET.

  52. MMTerrell Says:

    Very nice tribute about another great American. Can you clarify this story – it’s probably just me – you said “the day after the plane stuck” he called his wife to say I am alive. I am confused b/c you said he was trapped on the 105th floor, didn’t it colapse that day? He would not have been on the 105th if it colapsed, or did he survive the colapse and parish in the debris ‘the day after.’ Thanks for taking the question. It is amazing to visualize what they endured.

  53. butterflygirl Says:

    thanks for remembering

  54. Howard Says:

    I knew Andy. I was good friends with his brother Mike and their Mom was a teacher in our elementary school. I would often go to their house to play. Andy was a great guy – always had time for his younger brother and me. They are a very close family and I know that every day is hard – but so many great memories! Although I hadn’t seen Andy in many years, I think of him often and I try to make every moment I spend with my family count – the same way he did. Spencer family – if any of you read this – take care of each other and, as you can see, many people have you in their thoughts and prayers. Be well.

  55. The Blogging Times » 2,996 project launches with 3,412 bloggers Says:

    […] Robert Andrew Spencer will be honored by Beth […]

  56. Dawn Avril Says:

    Dawn Avril…

    […]Robert Andrew Spencer: Remembered « Visions Of Lady Beth[…]…

  57. hot Says:

    hot…

    […]Robert Andrew Spencer: Remembered « Visions Of Lady Beth[…]…

  58. CouriersOnCall.co.uk Says:

    LOL! This website obviously a NEWBIE! Pure B.S!

    A person guys should stop looking over this ridiculous admin. In case you readers need true expertise and funnies, go to our website: http://www.CouriersOnCall.co.uk

    Just click the blue hyperlinks on the advert screen to get actual information!

    Web Design FAIL!

  59. stretch mark Says:

    I love it whenever people come together and share
    thoughts. Great blog, stick with it!

  60. best way to buy Bitcoin with Credit card Says:

    best way to buy Bitcoin with Credit card

    Robert Andrew Spencer: Remembered | Visions Of Lady Beth

Leave a Reply

